martes, 23 de octubre de 2012

Merck y Jansen Cilag (J&J) UK Prix Galien 2012

Prix Galien is internationally renowned, with a further ten national franchises conducting ceremonies around the globe, as well as an International Prix Galien every two years. The award has been described as ‘the highest distinction which may honour a pharmaceutical product’, and ‘a prestigious testimony and acknowledgement of the vitality of our pharmaceutical research.’ In 2008, US President Barack Obama said: “The Prix Galien is a welcome initiative to stimulate creative research and promote excellence.

Much@s eran l@s candidat@s.

Solo dos alcanzaron el premio...


Two new hepatitis C drugs have been given the 2012 UK Prix Galien innovative product award as joint winners in a ceremony at the House of Commons.

Janssen-Cilag’s Incivo (telaprevir) and MSD’s Victrelis (boceprevir) are each used to treat chronic forms of the disease and were picked from a shortlist of a dozen medicines.

NICE chairman Professor Sir Michael Rawlins, who chaired the judges, said both were a perfect example of how the pharma industry can “demonstrate and justify its place in healthcare by innovating for change and showing real gains to the world”.

The drugs impressed a big-hitting panel, which included Professor Dame Carol Black, Professor Parveen Kumar, chairman of the Commission on Human Medicines Professor Sir Gordon W Duff, and national cancer director Professor Sir Michael Richards.

AstraZeneca’s Brilique (ticagrelor), indicated for atherothrombotic events in adults with acute coronary syndromes, and Shire’s Resolor (prucalopride), to treat chronic constipation in women, were highly commended.

Meanwhile Takeda became only the third winner of a Prix Galien Award for orphan drug development. Its brand Mepact (mifamurtide) is indicated to treat osteosarcoma, a rare malignant bone tumour.


Held every two years, the UK franchise of Prix Galien is part of an internationally-recognised scheme to highlight innovative medicines which takes place in the US, Canada and most of Europe.

Winners from each country are put forward for the international competition which also takes place every two years. (Más)
Publicar un comentario